Beer / My Adventures / Reviews

Beers at The Bier Stein, Oregon

From the local Oregonians, I have learned that beer is quite a popular thing here. There are plenty of breweries, and apparently Portland is the city with the most breweries per capita. That fact doesn’t surprise me considering how many I have seen already. I am not the world’s biggest beer aficionado, but I thought I would give it a try since I am in what seems to be the beer capital of America.

The Bier Stein's selection of bottled beer is expansive, including both local and foreign brews.

The Bier Stein’s selection of bottled beer is expansive, including both local and foreign brews.

My friends here in Eugene decided for a good Oregon beer experience, we should go to The Bier Stein (http://thebierstein.com/ or https://www.facebook.com/thebierstein?fref=ts ). The Bier Stein just moved from its original hole in the wall location to a larger building in order to accommodate its growing crowd.

The counter at The Bier Stein includes a digital menu of the beers on tap; the menu also states the individual beer's facts for the true beer connoisseur.

The counter at The Bier Stein includes a digital menu of the beers on tap; the menu also states the individual beer’s facts for the true beer connoisseur.

The Bier Stein has about 30 different beers on tap everyday, many of which are from local breweries. There is also a wide selection of bottles, both local and foreign. Not only do they have a great selection of beers, the food is also great.  One regular was also quite excited about his pizzanini, a grilled ciabatta bread filled with pepperoni, honey ham, red onions, roasted red peppers, mushrooms, fresh basil, house-made marinara, and provolone.

Some local brews close up

Some local brews close up at the Bier Stein

My experience here was great! I tried the well-known beer-cheese soup; cheese soup is one of my favorites, and I defiantly approve. I am more of a cider fan than beer, so for my first drink I had a 2 Towns Bad Apple Cider from Oregon (http://2townsciderhouse.com/ciders.php or https://www.facebook.com/2townsciderhouse). I really enjoyed this cider which brags a crisp, bold taste. For my second drink, I decided to do the Oregon thing and have a beer, a Bridgeport Stumptown Tart, which is also from Oregon (http://www.bridgeportbrew.com/ or https://www.facebook.com/BridgePortBrewingCompany ). To my surprise, I actually did enjoy this beer, which is a ale-styled beer with a hint of raspberry, blueberry, and blackberry.

My 2 Towns Bad Apple Cider

My 2 Towns Bad Apple Cider

My Bridgeport Stumptown Tart and Beer-Cheese soup, both delicious!

My Bridgeport Stumptown Tart and Beer-Cheese soup, both delicious!

The atmosphere is also very nice — the crowd consists of anyone and everyone from the homeworking-doing hipster to the talkative old gentlemen. There is plenty of seating, a pool table, and cards available. Not to mention, the staff is fantastic. The Bier Stein is a great place if you are looking for a relaxing pub atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

