My Adventures / Reflection

Travel Brings People Together

It is amazing the people that I have been able to reconnect with by traveling. All over the world I have met up with people that I have met else where around the world. I have been so fortunate to meet so many cool people as I travel around one day at a time.

Not only is visiting friends great because it creates a powerful connection, but also because you are able to see a lot of the local sights opposed to only the touristy things. Thanks to all of those people I have stayed with or visited while making my way around this beautiful world.

Recently, I visited many of the friends I had met while studying abroad in Spain. My study abroad program was through University of Oregon, so the majority of the students were from (or live in) Oregon. The other Michigander and I decided to visit the Oregonians, and I am so glad I did…

Group photo -- I just reunited with all of these fine folk, all of whom I haven't seen in about a year.

Group photo — I just reunited with all of these fine folk, all of whom I haven’t seen in about a year.

Here are a few more of the friends I went to visit while in Oregon.

Here are a few more of the friends I went to visit while in Oregon.

While in Eugene, I also met up with a friend who I met working at a summer camp. He was born in the United States, grew up in France, worked at the same summer camp I worked at, and now living in Eugene. The world really is a small place and getting smaller!

Julien and I exploring Eugene

Julien and I exploring Eugene

Also on the west coast, I stayed with my uncle and aunt in Eatonville, Washington .

My uncle Jim and I and their horses

My uncle Jim and I and their horses

Some other people I have reconnected with along my travels are…

Cristina from Madrid, Spain. She studying for a year at my high school; while I was studying abroad in Spain, I stayed with her family in Madrid for a weekend.

Cristina and I in a park in Madrid

Cristina and I in a park in Madrid

In Scotland, I visited these two boys who I met working at the summer camp in Michigan. I went out for a night in Glasgow and explored the Scottish Highlands with them.

Gary, James, and I in the Scottish Highlands

Gary, James, and I in the Scottish Highlands

I stayed with Matt in Birmingham, England. He brought me to Cadbury World — YUMMMMM! I also met him at the summer camp in Michigan.

Matt from Birmingham!

Matt from Birmingham!

In Cardiff Wales, I visited one of my very good friends that I met at summer camp in Norther Michigan (he has returned multiple years, as I have). We went and explored a lot of nature including waterfalls and beaches!

David and I enjoying a sunny day at a beach in Wales

David and I enjoying a sunny day at a beach in Wales

In London, I stayed with some friends from camp, Jodie and JP.

enjoying the London Pub atmosphere with Jodie and JP

enjoying the London Pub atmosphere with Jodie and JP

While in London, we also met up with another friend from camp, George.

Spending time in the pubs, reminiscing old memories from camp

Spending time in the pubs, reminiscing old memories from camp

Leave a Reply

