My Adventures / Reviews

Review of Bill Speidel’s Underground Tour of Seattle

Bill Speidel’s Underground Tour provided me with a lot of Seattle’s historical background, which definitely enhanced my experience in the city. The tour was great, but from the advertisements what I got was not what I expected. On the brochures they advertise Seattle for a more scandalous tour but for the most part it was a historical tour.

Seattle suffered from a fire in 1889. When the city was later rebuilt, the land was leveled to address sewer problems, which resulted in underground shops and sidewalks.

Seattle suffered from a fire in 1889. When the city was later rebuilt, the land was leveled to address sewer problems, which resulted in underground shops and sidewalks.

The tour itself went really well; our guide was great. He was very knowledgeable on Seattle’s history and was able to answer any questions. The guide did do a great job of keeping everybody close, but the tour group was way too big for my liking. There were 46 people in our one group. Personally, I would rather be in a smaller ground, so I am able to easily ask questions and to just have a more personal experience overall.

part of the "too large for me" tour group.

part of the “too large for me” tour group.

Tour information: Tours start on the hour from 10 am to 7 pm (May-September) or 11 am to 6 pm (October-April). Reserve your spot ahead or arrive at least a half hour early (first come first serve tickets). The tour beings at 608 First St in Pioneer Square. The ticket prices are as follows: adult ($16), seniors or student with current ID ($13), children 7-12 ($8), and the adult tour is ($25 — includes cocktail). Children under the age of 7 are free, but may have a hard time with the 70-min tour.

The Underground Tour cafe and meeting point in the Pioneer Square.

The Underground Tour cafe and meeting point in the Pioneer Square.

So, if you find yourself in Seattle, I would recommend this tour if you are looking for some historical background to put your present-day experience into context – plus it is fun to go down into the tunnels of Seattle. I would also recommend taking a look at the Underworld Tour, an adult-orientated guided tour (21 & up).

The old skylights that used to be used to light the underground corridors still let in a surprising amount of natural light from above.

The old skylights that used to be used to light the underground corridors still let in a surprising amount of natural light from above even though parts have been filled with concrete.

7 thoughts on “Review of Bill Speidel’s Underground Tour of Seattle

  1. I did a very similar tour when I was in Portland a couple of summers ago. It was “best of Portland” with Portland Walking Tours. It gave me such an understanding of the city that I wouldn’t have gotten on my own.

Leave a Reply

