El Camino de Santiago

Departing for Spain and El Camino de Santiago tomorrow!

Well I am in my final preparation stages for my journey on El Camino de Santiago in Northern Spain. I am leaving Michigan tomorrow for a connection in Atlanta and then heading on my way to Spain. I will have a long couple of days of travel between the overseas flight and the 6ish hour bus ride from Madrid to Oviedo. Even though I have only spent a short period of time at home, I am ready to get going on my new adventure tomorrow. 

From the various blogs, books, and people I have referenced as I prepare, I put together a packing list that I hope is appropriate for myself on El Camino.

Well that is pretty much it for the next 4 weeks. Missing from this photo is my camelback water bladder, a small piece of fleece that I am using for a blanket, and a small first aid kit.

Well that is pretty much it for the next 4 weeks. Missing from this photo is my camelback water bladder, a small piece of fleece that I am using for a blanket, and a small first aid kit.

My full packing list includes:

Clothing:

– 3 pair of Exofficio quick-dry, moisture wicking underwear

– 2 sports bras

– 3 pair of smartwool socks (all on the thin side)

– 1 pair of hiking pants (zip off above the knee for shorts)

– 1 pair of shorts

– 2 quick-dry, moisture wicking t-shirts

– 1 sweatshirt (that I am okay with pitching if I decide I would rather not carry it)

– 1 pair of leggings (for extra warmth at night, again okay with pitching)

Things: 

– guidebook (The Northern Camions: Norte, Primitivo, and Ingles Routes – A Cicerone guide by Laura Perazzoli and Dave Whitson) and map (National Geographic Adventure Map of Northern Spain)

– journal and pens

– compass

– water bottle and camelback water bladder

– light weight flip-flops (for walking around the hostel in)

– sunscreen and chap stick with sunscreen

– headlamp and extra batteries

– water purifying tablets

– hat and sunglasses

-camp towel (quick drying)

– extra hair ties and a headband

– first aid kit including moleskin for blisters, ibuprofen, Benadryl, Imodium AD (in-case my digestive system decides not to agree with me), bandaids, triple antibiotic, and Emergan-C (to prevent myself from getting sick)

First aid supply

First aid supply

Toiletries

– 2 2oz containers of Dr. Bronner’s everything soap

– toothpaste (small 2 oz container)

-toothbrush

-small hairbrush

-eye drops

-Deodorant

That's it for toiletries...

That’s it for toiletries…

Electronics 

– Olympus Tough Camera and charger

– Macbook Air and charger

– Phone and charger (the rechargeable phone I used while in Spain. I will be putting additional Euros on it when I arrive)

– Ipod and charger

Food – considering I am a vegetarian I am a little concerned in my ability to find adequate food, so I am bringing a small supply of protein bars (3), cliff bars(3), nuts and dried fruit.

Snack foods

Snack foods

In addition to what is listed above I will be rocking my Keens (already broken in and ready for the journey!). As for my sleeping situation, I have a sheet “sleeping bag,” which I asked my mom to sew for me. But, she really went the extra mile and made it something special for me. She tye-dyed it and then asked a couple of my friends to write messages on it that I can bring with me to Spain. I will also be able to have other people sign it along El Camino de Santiago. It was a pleasant surprise and I am pleased to be bringing it with me. In case. I am also bringing a small piece of fleece in case the weather is too chilly for just the sleep sheet.

The sheet "sleeping bag" my mom tye-dyed and sew for me. A perfect gift for El Camino.

The sheet “sleeping bag” my mom tye-dyed and sew for me. A perfect gift for El Camino.

The message my boyfriend wrote on my sleep sheet.

The message my boyfriend wrote on my sleep sheet.

The message written by one of my best friends, Eric

The message written by one of my best friends, Eric

The message written by my mom.

The message written by my mom.

I think the sleep-sheet will be a great way for me to carry something of my loved ones from home with me and also a way to bring back memories from the trail.

…Oh and don’t forget the credentials!

-passport

-credit cards

– copy of travel insurance

– some cash

– credencial del peregrino (pilgrim’s passport)

In the pilgrim’s passport is written The Spirit of the Camino: he Spirt of the Camino: Live in the moment. Welcome each day – its pleasures and its challenges. Make others feel welcome. Share. Feel the spirit of those who have gone before you. Imagine those who will follow you. Appreciate those who walk with you today. 

All of this managed to fit in my bag for a total of 27 lbs, not bad! Also, if you are interested, I am using my Gregory Pack – Carin 68. It is defiantly bigger than I need for El Camino, but it is what I have available plus I am already comfortable with it.

As I prepare to leave within the next 24-hours I am excited, nervous, anticipating what is to come, confused, independent, and ready for what is ahead all at the same time. There will be much to learn from the coming experience; I only can hope that I am ready for what is to come. I will try to keep my blog somewhat updated as I walk.

2 thoughts on “Departing for Spain and El Camino de Santiago tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

