El Camino de Santiago / Reflection

It feels great to be back in Oviedo, SPAIN!

After two days of waiting, flying, and bus riding, I am finally back in Oviedo (I studied abroad here in Oviedo for a semester last year). A flight delay, a long wait for the bus in Madrid, a long bus ride, some confusion in finding my hostel, and finally not being able to connect with my Spanish friends last night put me in somewhat of a dapper mode, but things have changed today for the better! I have roamed the city a bit and found a cafe in which to get online and connect with some Spanish friends. We have planned to meet tonight for Sidra! Finally real Spanish cider! 

Now that I have been out and about in the city for a bit, it feels great to be back! Although I only will be here for a couple days until I leave for El Camino de Santiago, I am so happy to be back. It is like nothing has changed in the year that I have been gone. I am looking forward to seeing some of my old friends. Coincidentally, another girl who studied abroad here at the same time as I did is arriving tomorrow, so I will be able to see her as well.

At the moment I am in a cafe enjoying un cafe con leche y tortilla patata. Even though I’ve tried numerous times at home to make tortilla patata, it tastes nothing like it here! I am enjoying every sip and every bite. I am also reflecting on how I have changed since I was here last.

When I arrived in Spain last time, I was nervous, unsure of myself, and very unconnected with the world around me. Since then I like to think that I have grown, and I believe a good majority of that growth is from my experiences abroad. Now, I feel more confident with myself (my Spanish!), and I feel that I am able to accomplish anything I please.  (Although one downside to more confidence in my Spanish is that people like to talk back to me VERY FAST and often times I need to ask them to speak slower).

In the coming days I will have some time to meet up with old friends, but I will also be resting and preparing myself for my journeys on El Camino de Santiago. (pictures coming soon!)

One thought on “It feels great to be back in Oviedo, SPAIN!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Good Morning | AMtraveltimes

Leave a Reply

