Travel Destinations near my home

Flashback to Oviedo, Spain

So far Oviedo has been lovely. I have been able to revisit some of my favorite spots in the city, see some of my friends, and just enjoy it all. I depart tomorrow for El Camino de Santiago, but here are the pictures I have gathered.

Views of Beautiful Asturias on the bus ride from Madrid to Oviedo. Once in Asturias the ride is breathtaking, and it winds in and out of tunnels. Something you just don't get in Michigan.

Views of Beautiful Asturias on the bus ride from Madrid to Oviedo. Once in Asturias the ride is breathtaking, and it winds in and out of tunnels. Something you just don’t get in Michigan.

Another view from the bus ride. The pueblos situated in front of the mountainous background make continue to make the long drive a little bit less boring and a little bit more scenic.

Another view from the bus ride. The pueblos situated in front of the mountainous background continue to make the long drive a little bit less boring and a little bit more scenic.

La Calatrava. Basically i tis a glorified mall, but it is definitely awesome to look at. I am actually sat at a cafe in here now. Fun fact - when I studied abroad here, my friends and I called this "the spaceship mall."

El Calatrava. Basically i tis a glorified mall, but it is definitely awesome to look at. I am actually sat at a cafe in here now. Fun fact – when I studied abroad here, my friends and I called this “the spaceship mall.”

A view looking out from La Calatrava (named that for the famous architect that designed it.)

A view looking out from El Calatrava (named that for the famous architect that designed it.)

A walk down memory lane. This is where I took classes at last year, La Casa de Las Linguas.

A walk down memory lane. This is where I took classes at last year, La Casa de Las Linguas.

The Catedral de Oviedo.

The Catedral de Oviedo, a very familiar sight.

Now in Oviedo, there is an exhibit containing Shroud of Turin, a cloth believed by some to be the burial cloth of Jesus.

Now in Oviedo, there is an exhibit containing Shroud of Turin, a cloth believed by some to be the burial cloth of Jesus.

Stolled by a few of the clubs I used to go to. This one is the late one; we would arrive here around five in the morning.

Stolled by a few of the clubs I used to go to. This one is the late one; we would arrive here around five in the morning.

La gorda, staute and plaza. Also a common meeting place in the city of Oviedo.

La gorda, staute and plaza. Also a common meeting place in the city of Oviedo.

A picture of an escanciadora (person who pours Asturian Cider). Asutrian Cider is different because it has to be aerated in order to create the carbonation. It also has a flavor that is more distinct than regular cider. I have come to love it!

A picture of an escanciadora (person who pours Asturian Cider). Asutrian Cider is different because it has to be aerated in order to create the carbonation. It also has a flavor that is more distinct than regular cider. I have come to love it!

Don't worry, they are not all mine! A good night with good friends and good sidra!

Don’t worry, they are not all mine! A good night with good friends and good sidra!

Hector, myself, and Rebeca - friends from when I studied abroad on Calle Gasgona (the cider street!). It was great to see them again

Hector, myself, and Rebeca – friends from when I studied abroad on Calle Gasgona (the cider street!). It was great to see them again

Leave a Reply

