El Camino de Santiago / Reflection

It’s not about the destination but the JOURNEY

Only three days after arriving in Santiago, and I am already missing walking. I think the phrase “it’s not about the destination but the journey” is a frequently used phrase, yet many people have not fully experienced this feeling. I now feel that I truly understand this phrase – now that I am at my destination, I just wish I was back on my journey. The people I met, the beautiful views I saw, the discussions we had, the meals we shared are what is on my mind – not arriving in Santiago.

Here are some of my favorite moments and favorite pictures from my journey on El Camino de Santiago Primitivo.

The first three pilgrims I met on my journey; we shared many stores. I was very fortunate to meet them on my first day.

The first three pilgrims I met on my journey; we shared many stores. I was very fortunate to meet them on my first day.

The second morning - dark and foggy.

The second morning – dark and foggy.

Muddy, wet day... but it was a great one with great people.

Muddy, wet day… but it was a great one with great people.

Playing cards with some new found friends. This was the day that I met the three people I would spend the majority of the rest of the trip with!

Playing cards with some new found friends. This was the day that I met the three people I would spend the majority of the rest of the trip with!

An amazing night in the small pueblo of Borres. The women who worked at the cafe opened her home to us and allowed us to have a barbecue. Just one small example of how giving people can be!

An amazing night in the small pueblo of Borres. The women who worked at the cafe opened her home to us and allowed us to have a barbecue. Just one small example of how giving people can be!

Words just can't describe...

Words just can’t describe…

Waiting for the hostel to open.... That moment you get to remove your shoes!

Waiting for the hostel to open…. That moment you get to remove your shoes!

Why did the chicken cross the road??

Why did the chicken cross the road??

Beautiful morning sunshine!

Beautiful morning sunshine!

All of those shoes and sticks... too bad photos can't capture the smell.

All of those shoes and sticks… too bad photos can’t capture the smell.

Ancient Roman walls still surround the city of Lugo today. This is one of the entrances into the city center.

Ancient Roman walls still surround the city of Lugo today. This is one of the entrances into the city center.

An early morning walk from San Roman lit by the light of the moon with the fog shinning in the distance.

An early morning walk from San Roman lit by the light of the moon with the fog shinning in the distance.

A view of pilgrims beneath the balcony of our hostel.

A view of pilgrims beneath the balcony of our hostel.

Danel and I cooking our last meal of El Camino de Santiago - Arroz Cubano. The next morning we arrived in Santiago.

Danel and I cooking our last meal of El Camino de Santiago – Arroz Cubano. The next morning we arrived in Santiago.

Looking back, I had an amazing time along the way. The people I met and the things we shared do not even compare to arriving in Santiago.

5 thoughts on “It’s not about the destination but the JOURNEY

  1. I really want to make the journey after seeing The Way. It is great to also read the account of someone who has done it! :D

    • I highly recommend hiking the Camino, and I suggest doing it solo. There are also a couple of books out on El Camino de Santiago, consider checking them out. I read both El Camino by Shirley MaClaine and The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho.

  2. Pingback: Arriving in Santiago | AMtraveltimes

Leave a Reply

