My Adventures / Reviews / Travel Destinations near my home / YUM! Food

Yates Cider Mill – A Michigan, Fall thing to do.

Yates Cider Mill - A Michigan, Fall thing to do.

Michigan has been known for its apples for eons, and the fall season is the perfect time to enjoy these apples. This past weekend, I went to Yates Cider Mill to enjoy what they have to offer. In addition, this year is Yates 150th anniversary.

Walking up to the cute, old barn there is a petting zoo, a fudge shop, and an apple shop. Upon entrance to the barn, you can see some of the equipment used to press apples, which has been water-powered since 1863.

The exterior of Yates Cider Mill complete with the watermill that powers their apple pressing. Since Yates opened in 1863, 150 years ago, the mill has been powered by water.

The exterior of Yates Cider Mill complete with the watermill that powers their apple pressing. Since Yates opened in 1863, 150 years ago, the mill has been powered by water.

There are many sweets and ciders to choose from, and you can enjoy them on the picnic benches situated directly outside of the barn on the Clinton River. I went for a mini-apple pie (since I had been craving apple pie for days), and it was really great. The crust was perfect, and each bite melted in your mouth. To drink, I had hot cider. It was fresh and perfect for a fall day.

Mmmm... The array of jams, apple butters, and even barbecue sauce sold at Yates. Plus, they are famous for their donuts, which I even enjoyed and I am not a donut fan.

Mmmm… The array of jams, apple butters, and even barbecue sauce sold at Yates. Plus, they are famous for their donuts, which I even enjoyed, and I am not a donut fan.

The trail that runs along the Clinton River; I can only imagine it's beauty when the leaves begin to change.

The trail that runs along the Clinton River; I can only imagine it’s beauty when the leaves begin to change.

After I finished the apple pie, I headed for a walk down the riverside trail. The fall atmosphere was lovely, with children and couples enjoying the season. I can only imagine the scene with the leaves changing colors — I guess I will have to take another trip soon.

Leave a Reply

