Reviews / Travel Destinations near my home / YUM! Food

Nöble Fish: Japanese Grocery Store and Sushi Bar

Noble Fish: Japanese Grocery Store and Sushi Bar

Alex mentioned Nöble Fish to me months ago, and finally, we decided to go check it out. When we walked in, I was quite surprised to find a small grocery store with all foods Japanese: noodles, fish, sushi, candies, everything. Alex had been there before, so he led me to the back of the building to the small, hidden sushi bar. I was surprised how crowded it was for such a small place.

The sushi selection was quite grand. We ordered a variety of vegetarian sushi rolls: tofu, asparagus, cucumber avocado. In addition, Alex ordered one that was salmon and mango, which was his favorite. I thought all of the veggie friendly ones were great. I was quite happy with the atmosphere and authenticity of the place. The sushi rolls came out artistically arranged with ginger and wasabi as well. The sushi was really amazing; I was completely satisfied with this meal and the atmosphere. 

Impressive chop stick usage by Alex at Nöble Fish.

Impressive chop stick usage by Alex at Nöble Fish.

It is also evident that others enjoy this sushi bar as well. The place was completely full when we came in; we ordered at the counter before we had a seat, but luckily a table opened up before our food was ready. The tables are positioned close together, and there are a few seats along the sushi bar which offers a great view of the chefs right behind the counter.

The sushi bar area with the chefs directly behind the counter working on their tasty culinary creations.

The sushi bar area with the chefs directly behind the counter working on their tasty culinary creations.

On the way out of the sushi bar/grocery store, we debated on which sweet to get for the way home. There were so many choices, but eventually we decided upon some Green Tea Daifuku. Neither of us had heard of it before, but I was very impressed. It had a soft, squishy outside with a smooth and creamy inside; I didn’t really taste green tea, but the texture and flavor combination was delectable! Overall, it was a great early afternoon meal, and Nöble Fish is definitely a place I would recommend! 

Dessert in a tiny plastic box -- Wow, was it good! Daifuku, which I had never heard of before quickly won over my heart!

Dessert in a tiny plastic box — Wow, was it good! Daifuku, which I had never heard of before quickly won over my heart!

Leave a Reply

