Favorite Moments

Favorite Travel Moments: Prague, Czech Republic

Favorite Moments: Prague, Czech Republic

Looking back, I have some very fond travel memories that I have not yet blogged about, so I am going to start posting some of my “Favorite Moments” from past travels. My first favorite moment post is going to be from Prague, Czech Republic. Czech Republic was the first of the Central/Eastern European countries I traveled to, and whoaaa was I impressed! We happened to be there during Easter Weekend, so there were a lot of festivities going on in the city.

A view of the Easter Fair from up above. At the fair there was plenty of foods to taste and trinkets to be tempted to buy.

A view of the Easter Fair from up above. At the fair there was plenty of foods to taste and trinkets to be tempted to buy.

Favorite of all fair foods in Prague - Langose, a fried garlic flavored bread with cheese and ketchup.

Favorite of all fair foods in Prague – Langose, a fried garlic flavored bread with cheese and ketchup.

While in Prague, we stayed at the Czech Inn Hostel, which was a nice modern hostel. I think it was the most expensive hostel we stayed in while in Eastern Europe, but it was very nice. My only complaint was the distance from the city center. It is 2.5km from the city center, which was a bit much for my liking. The hostel had a trivia night while we were there, and then directly afterwards we went on a pub crawl that left from the hostel itself.

The Prague Pub Crawl brought us to a variety of pubs: underground pubs, bars, and dance clubs. It was a great experience to see the different types of nightlife all within one city. I think this pub crawl was my favorite of all the pub crawls I have ever been to.

One of the underground bars we were taken to during our pub crawl.

One of the underground bars we were taken to during our pub crawl.

Another bar we went to on the pub crawl.

Another bar we went to on the pub crawl.

During the days in Prague we spent our time exploring city sites: St. Charles Bridge, The Old Town Square, St. Vitus Cathedral, Lobkowicz Palace, The Prague Castle, The John Lennon Wall, and Petrin Hill. There is so much to do in this historic city, which is why I loved it so much. I would never get bored here; you can always find something new to discover! My top recommendations would be to visit St. Charles Bridge, The Old Town Square, and The Prague Castle.

Me at the John Lennon Wall

Me at the John Lennon Wall

A sculpture on the walk to the top of Petrin Hill is "a memorial dedicated to all the victims, not only those who were jailed or executed but also those whose lives were ruined by toleration despotism."

A sculpture on the walk to the top of Petrin Hill is “a memorial dedicated to all the victims, not only those who were jailed or executed but also those whose lives were ruined by toleration despotism.”

In addition to the historical experiences of the city, I urge you to go for a night out in Prague. A pub crawl is a great way to do this because they bring you to all the amazing places that otherwise tourists don’t hear about. Plus, it is generally a cheap way to go out for the night. The night life in Prague is so vibrant; it is not something to miss out on! 

Last night in Prague on St. Charles Bridge with some new found friends from Germany and Australia.

Last night in Prague on St. Charles Bridge with some new found friends from Germany and Australia.

6 thoughts on “Favorite Travel Moments: Prague, Czech Republic

  1. Prague is the best city! I studied abroad there and had the best time of my life.. My apartment was actually around the corner from the Czech Inn Hostel! In Namesti Miru neighborhood. Glad you enjoyed Praha as much as I did :)

  2. Pingback: Top 3 Easter Fair Foods in Prague! | AMtraveltimes

  3. Pingback: Five Cities I Would Return To | AMtraveltimes

  4. Pingback: Lennon Wall, Prague | AMtraveltimes

Leave a Reply

