Travel Destinations near my home

Bright Autumn Colors of the Midwest

Bright Fall Colors of the Midwest

I went for a stroll yesterday at theStony Creek Metro Park. It was a crisp fall day, but perfect to see the changing colors of the leaves. I even came home with a collection of beautifully colored leaves; I plan on doing something with them, just not sure what yet. We also stopped at the nature center and had a look around.

Fallen leaves cover the forest floor creating a bright pathway

Fallen leaves cover the forest floor creating a bright pathway

Looking up through the autumn colored leaves, the sky becomes distorted in the best kind of way

Looking up through the autumn colored leaves, the sky becomes distorted in the best kind of way

The park does have quite a bit to offer, especially for a metro park. There is an 18-hole golf course, boat launch and beaches on the lake, hiking and biking trails, and a nature center. In the winter, there is also a ice-skating rink; I suppose that means I will be taking a trip back there once the snow comes. The variety of the seasons is one of the truly amazing and beautiful things about Michigan. I absolutely love that in Michigan we experience a proper winter, spring, summer, and fall.

4 thoughts on “Bright Autumn Colors of the Midwest

  1. Oh, how I miss the fall! Or changing of the season at all…we have all four in Idaho, where I’m from. Now I live in Singapore and we only have times of day: (1) hot and rainy or (2) hot. Enjoy your fall!

Leave a Reply

