My Adventures / Wine

Every City Needs a Guy on a Horse: Ginjinha in Lisboa

Every City Needs a Guy on a Horse: Ginjinha in Lisboa

Almost every city in Europe I have traveled to has a statue of the cliché guy on a horse. Somehow I never get the name of this mystery man that probably did something great for the city at some point.

More importantly, in Lisboa, I got some Ginjinha. Ginjinha is a liquor made by infusing sour cherries (ginja berries) in alcohol with sugar and some other ingredients. It makes for an interesting out come. It is served as a shot, usually with a few cherries.

408161_2914017730444_1027791938_n

Let me tell you, the drink was strong and the cherries were even stronger. I only had one shot, but I felt that it went straight to me. We got our Ginjinha from a tiny shop with just a window front. The only thing sold there was this Ginjinha, which came pouring out of a barrel-styled tank.

I could never say that Ginjinha is my favorite drink… But, when in Portugal, why not try some Ginjinha?

2 thoughts on “Every City Needs a Guy on a Horse: Ginjinha in Lisboa

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog as this made me chuckle! This looks just like a fella on a horse in Budapest!

Leave a Reply

