Anthropology / My Adventures / Reflection

A Photo, A Memory

A Photo, A Memory

With all of this talk of graduation and ending one chapter to begin a new one, I can’t help but to reflect on the past. Since arriving at college I have done what would have been the unthinkable to my high school self. I studied abroad in Spain for 6 months, learned Spanish, traveled to 19 countries (a lot of it being on my own), and even changed majors from Pre-med to anthropology.

Through my college years, I did learn a lot about myself and who I want to be. After studying abroad in Spain, I realized my passion was not in the medical field. I began to understand that I love people – I love to learn, to converse, to better understand what makes all of us on this earth similar and different. I was only able realize what my passion is because of all of the people I have shared experiences with, whether it was just a a few moments or for a significant amount time.

The photo above is from an evening in Prague (taken on the St. Charles Bridge). A few of these people I studied abroad with and had the pleasure of spending two weeks in Eastern Europe with – some of my most insane, exciting, eyeopening travel experiences to date. The others I only knew for the evening in very small capacity. None the less, each impacted me in a way I will never forget.

In the end, I will never be the same exact person I was at the moment this photograph was taken. People change, situations change, and life changes. There is no stopping change, but what we can do is embrace change. We must learn to accept change and adapt to it. I will always look back and love my life as an undergraduate student, but I also look forward to what is ahead. I look to my future and the next adventure, and I can not wait to find out what is in store!

2 thoughts on “A Photo, A Memory

    • Thanks! Yes, I learned that a stress free life seems to be better for me. “Happiness is not a destination, it is a way of life.” I think you made the right choice too! :)

Leave a Reply

